Skip to content

A dream come true: Pink Floyd A la POCHO 

January 24, 2010

Growing up in Pomona California, in the 1980s and 1990s, I hung out two groups of kids. There were those who had just arrived, spoke little English, played soccer, and listened to what people call regional Mexican music (banda and back then quebradiate music). Then, there were the cats who were born in the United States spoke as much if not more English than Spanish and of course played soccer. When I hung out with los Mexicanos, I wore crema seda (silk shirts with crazy designs), borrowed my abuelos cinto pientiado, and attended parties. Of course, I didn’t dance, my dancing to “regional Mexican music” didn’t really start until UCLA undergrad days when I roomed with a fellow bruin whose family was from Zacatecas. With the other Mexican kids, I spoke English, played soccer, and attended my first Mana concert. We all love to hate on Mana now, but back then they were the cafe tacuba of our now more mature musical taste…My fam added to my early musical scope: from my futbolero tio I borrowed Pink Floyd, Tom Petty, and other must own classic rockers, from my brother I occasionally stole a Nirvana album, and last, but not least our neighbor made us 1 to 2 hour VHS tapes of MTV (back when they only played music) at least once a week..

It is with great pride and in the pocho spirit that I share this gem…A little context: coming home late from several parties with Froylan, we smartly decided to get one beer (we bought a six pax) to greet the morning. We scrolled you tube and found:

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2010 5:48 pm

    which floyd, man? sounds like some mellow reflection and talk at 5am, good place to be.

  2. January 31, 2010 5:39 am

  3. nick permalink
    January 13, 2011 4:46 pm

    i kept looking for Ray in the crowd.

    • romeo permalink*
      January 13, 2011 5:58 pm

      he was holding the camera! hahajajaja

  4. fern permalink
    January 13, 2011 9:14 pm

    Tio Milo got us all into that experimental rock, sickest house by far was the bach. pad when you went to ucla

  5. Courtney permalink
    January 14, 2011 5:55 am

    this is pretty grooving! i am not that familiar with pink floyd, but i can enjoy this rendition. nice.

  6. January 14, 2011 6:12 am

    thanks courtney!!! u playin on campus this semester? saludos!

Trackbacks

  1. Music Confessions «

Leave a Reply

