Skip to content

Mexican Nicknames….

February 6, 2011

My mom’s brothers and sister go to Mexicali so often, that every year we label someone Chicali and whatever year it may be. Im in NYC, so i’m not sure who got Chicali 09 or Chicali 010, but it was most likely Raymundo or Sandy. I’ve only been a few times–two funerals, one wedding, the killing of a chivo–so I don’t know the primos or even exactly how it is that my abuelita happens to be from Mexicali. I know very little about my Abuelita and can’t imagine her as anything else besides being my Abuelita. You know how your abuelos never seem to age? Every picture of them looks exactly the same. They kinda remain old forever, until the unfortunate day that they pass away. 

It turns out one of my mom’s primo, Martin, is doing a Phd in Mexico and is spending the semester at the CUNY Graduate Center studying some theory I don’t really understand. He arrived last week and is staying with me. Over dinner as we tried to figure it out if we ever met he told me that in Mexicali everyone knew my Abuelita as “La Maci” (pronounced “MA-C”), I only knew her as Abuelita Leonor. When she was a little girl the family drove past a Macy’s department store. Her tio, the driver, thought that Macy’s was a beautiful name for a department store and  said: “a que decirle a la ni~a Maci.” La Maci would eventually compose songs about each grandkid and give them a nickname that seemed to fit better than the name their parents gave them. 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Ish permalink
    February 8, 2011 2:51 am

    Is this the same kid who was dancing at the apollo? they kinda look like they could be. So what
    is his nickname

  2. February 8, 2011 4:34 am

    jajajhahaha. its not, but it does look like him…Grandma called nick gueruso and el chocho. not sure what chocho means, but gueruso means white boy more or less.

  3. February 8, 2011 4:40 am

    PRIMOS/SIBLINGS: do you all remember what grandma called you or what song she made up? Y when is the next fam reunion in Mexico? Meeting family in NYC cus they are studying here doesnt seem like a viable way to get to know the fam or the history of the Chicali branch.

  4. Amanda Guzman Bennett permalink
    February 8, 2011 11:53 pm

    I honestly dont remember what she called me…grandpa called me la reina de los huicholes and I dont know what that is…grandma every once in a while would call me gordis I think.

  5. jean carlo guzman permalink
    February 9, 2011 5:25 am

    boti y chumpi… haha amanda.. gordis reina 🙂

  6. Jenn permalink
    February 9, 2011 6:12 am

    I was thinking about it and I can’t remember what song she made up for me! I do remember her always singing “Los Aretes de la Luna” and the one that went, “El oso subió a la montaña.” My nickname was “Ojos de lechuza” = )

  7. February 10, 2011 2:35 am

    I think the funniest is when lobo started calling ferni Jack.

  8. Nicolas Guzman or Francisca Guzman permalink
    February 11, 2011 11:33 pm

    I think my mom sang to Dante- Si estas con tu llava, no la dejes dormida, despues del comercial sigue la movida. My mom used to watch a Spanish show with Veronica Castro.
    There is going to be a quinceanera 2/26, maby the family reunion can be in the summer, one year we went to Ensenada.
    Jared was singing ” A comer pollo” for Janneth.. it rhyms with an english song.

Leave a Reply

