Skip to content

El Monte

June 5, 2011

I dont remember my last summer in Cali, but it must have been in 2007 or so. El Monte, a working class Mexican suburb, is more than fitting. My mother and her brothers attended high school in El Monte in the late 70s and early 80s. Their kids spent weekends and summers visiting Abuelita Leonor (La Macy) and learning to swim at the community pool. Everyone still visits El Monte, but only tio David stayed here.

My Fiance and I rent a small house  next to La Historia Society Museum Museo, a small archive run by volunteers, and the El Monte Public Library. The house is  about two blocks from where my mom took her first english class, a five minute bike ride to grandma’s house (my tio David lives there now. He is my tutor for Oral exams), to the community garden, to leg lag (soccer games) and a fifteen minute bus ride to Cal State Los Angeles (unlike Columbia its open to the public. The “public” can check out ten books at a time. not bad). 

Blogs will not be as regular as usual, but I promise some nice photos of Tecos Regalia (El Papa de Chicharito in the 70s and the coolest tecos sports bag ever), news on the now fist division soccer team Los Cholos de Tijuana (I prefer the CH spelling), funky as pocho snacks (think peanut butter and jelly in a tortilla), a doctoral student getting schooled by his tio, memories of El Monte (mine, my mom’s, tios, tias, and those of los viejitos from the archive) and updates on summer projects of La Casa del Hijo del Ahuizote and South El Monte Arts Posse.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2011 12:26 pm

    Hombre, tienes que leer The People of Paper de Salvador Plascenscia que es una obra genial con ambiente en El Monte.

    It is one of the most memorable books I have read – think magical realism, mexican immigration, gangs, and radical shifts in narrative perspectives. Fucking belleza de verdad.

  2. June 6, 2011 4:28 pm

    Thanks, I’ll check it out. Will you be in Pomona at all this summer? We’re trying to get some public art stuff going…i’ll send you the “plan”
    saludos,
    enjoy brasil

Leave a Reply

