Skip to content

Tios

September 10, 2011

Tios are at least ten times cooler than any best friend you’ve ever had. From High school, undergrad, late 20s, 3os, it don’t matter, Tios are just baller like that. They have stories your friends couldn’t even make up if they tried, they can do all kinds of cool shit: play soccer, fix cars, build anything (rooms, porches, bikes, houses), dance to everything, look cool just standing…just standing. And they aren’t your parents, so there is that older, wiser, but brotherly like relationship…if you aint got tios or tias like this, let me know cus mine are always up for kicking it with los sobrinos. 

My abuelos brother, who is my tios’ tio passed away recently. Trini lived in Guadalajara mostly, but I have two clear memories of him..

I was in junior high and all the tios, abuelo, and Trini were in backyard kicking it…Trini called me over and asked that I serve him just a little tequila. Solo un poquito, he said, as he gestured with his hands. So I poured slowly and to my surprise our definition of poquito were very different…As poquito, became a damn lot, everyone there jokingly said “solo un poquito.” Solo un poquito took on a life of its own after that. 

Many years later, I graduated from UCLA and was spending a summer at UNAM. NACCS, (The annual Chicano/Chicana Studies conference) was in Guadalajara that year, so I took advantage and went to visit all the homies in Santa Margarita. Naturally, I stopped by to say was up to Trini. He was skinny and looked real sharp as he sold coconuts, candy, and things like to those from la vecindad. We talked about Zacatecas, family history, and to my surprise a ton about my tios David, Ray, and Jared. He spoke of them as they were his own kids. He demonstrated a profound love and admiration for them. He missed them. Trini no era my tio, but I can imagine what los tios might be feeling..tios les mando un abrazo.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. f.guzman permalink
    September 10, 2011 2:06 pm

    very true about trini, he did not have kids of his own, so all of us made up for that.
    he took his job as an uncle very seriously and yes he was proud of all of us!
    que descanse en paz!

  2. Froylan Enciso permalink
    September 12, 2011 6:30 am

    🙂 Love

Leave a Reply

